Mahmudullah out of Bangladesh squad for T20 WC

As it was widely speculated, veteran Mahmudullah
Riyad was left out of Bangladesh’s squad for the T20 World Cup, paying the
price of his poor batting form.

The most capped player and also the highest run-getter for Bangladesh in this
format, Mahmudullah’s form of late took a huge nosedive and also his slow
operating style caused the side’s defeat in several close matches.

As Bangladesh put priority on impact players, rather than performer, the axe
was fallen on the experienced campaigner.

Apart from him, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Naim Sheikh, Parvez Hossain Emon and
Mahedi Hasan, who were in the squad for Bangladesh’s disastrous Asia Cup
campaign, were also dropped. Another veteran player Mushfiqur Rahim earlier
retired from this format following the Asia Cup debacle.

“With respect to Mahmudullah, he has produced many good games. We are moving
forward keeping in mind the one-year plan that our current technical
consultant has given us. Accordingly, Mahmudullah has been kept out with
everyone’s consent after discussing with the team management,” chief selector
Minhajul Abedin Nannu said after announcing the 15-member squad for the T20
World Cup, scheduled to be held in Australia in October-November.

There was no surprise in the team indeed as the Abedin-led selection panel
announced a much-anticipated squad for the eighth T20 World Cup.

Liton Das, Nurul Hasan Sohan and Hasan Mahmud, who were unable to play in the
Asia Cup due to injury, have returned to the team as it was expected. Yasir
Ali Rabbi, who missed the Zimbabwe tour and the Asia Cup, has also returned
to the team. Nazmul Hossain Shanto, who was left out of the T20 team due to
consecutive failures, has also returned to the team. He has been taken as a
backup opener even though he hasn’t a performance of late to show his

His inclusion though raised questions, Abedin said Shanto had a performance
in domestic cricket for which it was tough to omit him.

“He played well in the domestic circuit. Not many Bangladeshi batters could
make a century in BPL but Shanto scored,” Abedin, the former Bangladesh
skipper said.

Hasan Mahmud and Yasir Rabbi are going to have their first World Cup
experience from the declared team. The rest have each represented Bangladesh
on the global stage. Shakib is going to be the only cricketer to play in
every tournament of the T20 World Cup. Bangladesh is going to play T20 World
Cup for the second time under his leadership. Shakib was the captain of West
Indies World Cup in 2010. Bangladesh lost both of the two matches in the
tournament proper.

Bangladesh’s performance in T20 World Cup is absolutely miserable, winning
just one game in the main tournament and that too in the inaugural edition in
2007. They beat West Indies thanks to a blitzkrieg knock of Ashraful.

Bangladesh is scheduled to fly to New Zealand for the tri-nation T20 series
on September 23 with the same squad which is announced for World Cup. Apart
from hosts New Zealand, Pakistan is the other team in the tri-nation series.

Bangladesh though was supposed to set up a week-long conditioning camp in
Adelaide, Australia after the tri-nation series, they backed out from the
decision, considering players’ hectic schedule.

They will however play two warm-up matches against Afghanistan and South
Africa on October 17 and 19 as part of their preparation ahead of the T20
World Cup.

Bangladesh will start their World Cup mission on October 24, taking on the
runners-up of Group-A in Hobart. Their second match is against South Africa
in Sydney on October 27 after which they will face off Group-B champions at
the Gabba in Brisbane on October 30. Bangladesh then will take on
subcontinent powerhouse India on November 2 and Pakistan on November 6.
Adelaide will host both of the matches.

Bangladesh squad for T20 World Cup: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Nurul Hasan
Sohan (Vice-captain), Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain,
Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Liton Das, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Mustafizur Rahman,
Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Hasan Mahmud, Nasum Ahmed and Najmul Hossain Shanto.

Stand by: Shoriful Islam, Rishad Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Soumya Sarkar.

Previous articleBangladesh keen to fix top order riddle
Next articleGovt wants all political parties to join next election